The structure of State SUBEBs is derived from the provisions of UBE Act 2004 that provides for the establishment of a National Universal Basic Education Commission (UBEC) at the Federal level and mandated each State to establish a SUBEB by enacting its own enabling Law as well.

A fully decentralized structure was established for SUBEB at the State level and in all the 23 Local Government Areas. Kaduna SUBEB has all the full structures on ground at the State Level and in all the LGEAs across the State. Each of the Departments is headed and consisted of Professional Officers from various Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) such as Education, Accountant-General’s Office, Auditor-General’s Office, Public Service Office (PSO).